Back to all reports

Deep 'trenches' from milling affecting stability.

Reported in the Roads/highways category anonymously at 16:10, Wed 27 March 2019

Sent to Highways England 5 minutes later

A few years ago the concrete surface was milled to increase 'grip' by removing the polished surface, unfortunately someone decided to mill the surface in a linear with flow manner, rather than the long established cross milling method. This led to 'trenches' being cut by damaged/mis-set milling cutter teeth which 'grab' vehicle tyres, especially single track vehicles, leading to instability, especially on the former hard shoulder running lanes, another byproduct is the poor cross-surface drainage of rain water.

RSS feed of updates to this problem Receive email when updates are left on this problem.

Updates

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 16:45, Wed 24 April 2019

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 14:31, Tue 28 May 2019

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 15:31, Tue 25 June 2019

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 16:19, Tue 23 July 2019

  • Riding on what was the hard shoulder now lane 1 the poorly machined grooves throw a motorcycle all over the place.

    Posted anonymously at 16:59, Tue 20 August 2019
    Still open, via questionnaire

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 11:06, Wed 18 September 2019

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 12:26, Wed 16 October 2019

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 12:53, Wed 13 November 2019

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 13:21, Wed 11 December 2019

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 13:49, Wednesday 8 January 2020

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 15:00, Wednesday 5 February 2020

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 15:33, Wednesday 4 March 2020

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 16:15, Wednesday 1 April 2020

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 22:08, Wednesday 29 April 2020

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 18:53, Monday 1 June 2020

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 14:20, Tuesday 30 June 2020

  • Still open, via questionnaire, 17:38, Tuesday 28 July 2020

Provide an update

Your information will only be used in line with our privacy policy

No personal details will be stored.

Your update